The Wind Through the Keyhole

I’d never read any of Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, but I was aware of it as an opus and as something that, in time, I would have to take a stab at.  Luckily, my book club contains someone with a severe case of Kingophilia.  As his most recent book and a nice gateway into the Dark Tower universe, The Wind Through the Keyhole had some serious advocacy behind it.

In short, I loved it.  It had all sorts of things in it for which I am a complete sucker.  The story itself isn’t much of a story,  stuck, as it is, in the time between two of the earlier novels in the series (making it an interquel).  There’s a little travelling and a little seeking of shelter.  BUT!  Within this main narrative, Roland of Gilead tells his companions a story of his younger days as a gunslinger knight.  AND THERE’S MORE! Within this sub-story there is a further tale that young-Roland tells to comfort a child in his care.  This sub-sub-story has exactly the right kind of fabley style that makes me weak at the knees. Fairy tales and multiple levels of meta-narrative — Fantastic.

The language and style of prose, the setting and world building are all top notch.  I love the mix of dying earth (technology as magic), Arthurian, and wild west tropes and I will certainly be reading the rest of the series.  I recently proposed to a friend that Iain Banks is a more important writer than Stephen King, but reflecting on my experience of The Wind Through the Keyhole, I am reconsidering.  King is the archetypal master storyteller — the man writes a mean novel.

This entry was posted in Fantasy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Wind Through the Keyhole

  1. Pingback: Cloud Atlas | consumed media

  2. Pingback: Prince of Thorns | consumed media

  3. Pingback: The Gunslinger | consumed media

Leave a Reply

